The Cardiff North Neighbourhood Partnership Area is the largest in Cardiff and is comprised of eight Electoral Wards, namely: Cyncoed, Heath, Lisvane, Llanishen, Pentwyn, Penylan, Pontprennau/Old St Mellons and Rhiwbina. The area is home to 94,900 residents (26.8% of the Cardiff total) according to the 2014 official Mid-Year Estimate.


This huge area, containing a resident population greater than six other Welsh Local Authorities, is considered to be the larger part of Cardiff’s ‘leafy suburbs’. However, the Pentwyn Electoral Ward contains almost 5,000 people living in the 20% most deprived communities in Wales. Other smaller pockets of relative deprivation can be found in parts of Llanishen.


Cardiff North is traversed by the M4 and to the north and the A48 to the south. North of the M4 lies virtually undeveloped farmland, woodland and rough grazing pasture. The University Hospital of Wales is located in the south-west corner of the area


To find out more about Cardiff North, please visit the Cardiff Partnership website here.